Apologetics or Trusting?

muhammadalimosque2

Recently I visited an ancient mosque.

It’s something I do as often as I can. I like to pray on mosques. Weird, I know, but there’s something about calling out the name of Jesus in the middle of a place that denies his deity that makes my heart sing. Some of my best conversations about Jesus have been in a mosque.

This particular day was a little different.

Because this mosque is part of an ancient section of the city and visited by thousands of tourists each year, they have what I like to call the “Evangelism Section” near the door. It’s manned by two very lovely ladies who were quick to give me and my visiting friends loads of pamphlets in Arabic and English on women in Islam and the five pillars of Islam. We were happy to oblige and give her some of our own materials. Quid pro quo, right?

And then she asked me if we wanted to watch a five minute video about Islam.

I try to answer yes to any questions like this whenever I can. You never know where it will lead.

So we began watching a video entitled, “Islam and Science.” The premise of the video is that science proves Islam is true. They referenced a couple of scientists with PhDs and a few books basically saying that Mohammad couldn’t have known what he did and written what he did which proves his message was from God.

As I watched this film, my mind started drifting (as it often does during these types of situations). I started thinking of all the times I have tried to prove Jesus is true. I’ve spent countless hours thinking through arguments and attempting to answer unanswerable questions hoping it will somehow convince someone of the truth.

But is that my job?

No, I don’t think so.

When we look at the book of Acts, Peter’s first sermon was simply to quote scripture the hearers already knew. Then whenever a miracle happened, he simply pointed to Jesus. Over and over Peter, Stephen, Paul and the other apostles simply told people about Jesus. There was no great formula. They prayed together and trusted that God would speak through them when the time came. That was it.

So why do I feel like I have to convince others that Jesus is the way?

Because I’m a fallen human who wants to maintain control. Relying completely on Jesus means I have to let go of everything else. And that can be unnerving.

And freeing.

So I’m working on simply spending lots of time in prayer and then trusting that God will divinely inspire my words when the time comes.

It’s his job to persuade people to come to him anyway, right? I’m just the vessel privileged to be used.

Categories: spiritual growth, weird things about living overseas | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

One Big Happy Home

A Blog by Kayla and Ryan North

