Blessed: Thoughts on the Beatitudes

20140503-135607.jpg

A few years ago, I listened to Dr. George O Wood speak on the beatitudes from Matthew 5:3-12. I still reflect on his words often. I hope they minister and challenge you like they do me. His words will be highlighted.

The word “bless” means that God approves this and in consequence there’s an inner joy regardless of the consequence.

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

The attitude “I need help” creates an inner attitude of humility. It’s not proud of someone but grateful. We all need to decide to keep the veil or remove it. Paul urges us to remove it so others can see us move from glory to glory. We should live in transparency. 

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

The attitude “I am sensitive.” When you realize the depth of your own need, fallen short of the kingdom of God, and can feel for others.

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

The attitude “I’m strong but easy to live with.” Jesus was courageous but prudent. Jesus was firm and loving (reference the rich young ruler).

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

The attitude “I want to keep on growing.”

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

The attitude “I care.” When you walk with Jesus (you’ve said, “I need help”) then you can care for others. You cannot elevate faith above love.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

The attitude “my conscience is clear.” Don’t let the sun go down on your anger. Keep short accounts. Forgiveness does for our heart what the tear duct does for the eye: it cleans out the toxins and debris. Don’t let things build up, but cleanse daily.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

The attitude “let me be your friend.” It takes more work to build a bridge than it does to blow it up. Draw a circle and invite people in.

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

The attitude “I will rejoice even in my down times.” There is a difference between the reflex response and a reflective response. Suffering is never God’s last word.

Categories: spiritual growth | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

One Big Happy Home

A Blog by Kayla and Ryan North

