The Day I Washed a Fish

I have, over the space of a couple months, developed a relationship with a new found friend. It all began the day my youngest daughter introduced me to Red. At the time I didn’t think I had time to foster a new friend as needy as Red—or so I thought. Red, I found out, was truly a treasure. With his quiet reserved nature, Red proved to be the best listener I have ever met. Red is a fish.

red betta fish

Red arrived at my home one day when my daughter unceremoniously plopped an incredibly murky, smelly cup of think pink water on my counter. “Here,” she said. I think its dead. I just didn’t have the heart to leave the poor thing in my cold classroom over the weekend.”

I was afraid to look in the cup. My daughter happens to be a physics teacher at a local high school and her classes are known for all kinds of strange and incredible experiments, of which poor, dear Red had been an unwitting participant in a rather thoughtless student’s lab presentation.

“Whats the big deal?’ the dim-light bulb of a student asked, “it’s only a stupid fish.” As a result poor Red had been subjected to overfeeding to such an extent he was experiencing constant “near-death ” moments until I was forced to save his life.

“This is going to require drastic and very dangerous procedures,” I said. My daughter had since walked away and was presently busy making herself a cup of coffee. (It was obvious she was worried and needed the caffeine to bolster her nerves.) But she needn’t have worried. I was going to save this precious life. I was going to use every ounce of my small brain to save his. All I could come up with was a bath.

Yes, I was going to give a fish a bath.

I know this procedure will probably sound radical and drastic to many. And the nay-sayers would have thought it better to flush the problem away. Or better yet, fed him to the neighbor’s cat. But this little brave life deserved a chance.

My daughter I’m sure was so overwhelmed she was forced to go downstairs to watch a kiddie pirate show with her small fry.

I continued to stay focused in spite of the odds and went ahead with the plan. Using the handy spray-hose attached to my kitchen sink, I lifted dear Red in a large orange-stained spoon I normally reserved only for serving spaghetti sauce. I took special aim and sprayed the gills thoroughly. Unfortunately I might have overestimated the amount of water needed and poor Red was nearly sent down the garbage disposal. But quick thinking on my part and I was able to scoop him up and place him in his new home. 

Since Red’s arrival in my home I have to admit he has edured one or two other close encounters with death.  (One such encounter involved my three-year old grandson and lots of wet toliet paper.) 

Sometimes I believe God wants us to pay attention to even the smallest parts of our life. Those parts of us we have a tendency to ignore or maybe not think are very important. Just like good old Red we need to allow God to “flush-out” the things that are clogging up our gills and breathe the truth of his love for us.

As for my new found friend, I bought him some new red marbles for his bowl.

Sorry, got to go. My grandkids are pelting Red with the marbles. Hold on little buddy, I’m coming!

Categories: Kathy Cunsolo, spiritual growth | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

One Big Happy Home

A Blog by Kayla and Ryan North

