Cleaning the House One Day at a Time

I live in the desert.  It’s extremely dirty here.  Dirty like you wouldn’t believe.  It just blows through the air.

So I’ve declared a war on dirt.

For my first week I lost every battle.  Terribly.  There was a lot of collateral damage.  This was the dirt my sweet husband swept up in one week.  Gross.

photo

 

So obviously, something had to change drastically.  I simply can’t spend a day cleaning and expect our apartment to remain dust and dirt free for the rest of the week.

So, to the internet I went in search of ideas for how to clean more efficiently.  After spending some precious time doing that, I decided that cleaning for 15-30 minutes every day would be my answer.

At the bottom of this post is my schedule for cleaning each week.  It’s posted on our fridge so I remember and so my husband knows what’s being cleaned that day and can help as he has time.

You’ll notice that I have Sabbath Rest on Fridays.  In the Middle East Sunday is a work day and Friday is like Sunday in the US.  So, my week gets changed up.  You’ll also notice that I have errands and groceries twice a week.  I don’t have a car (really not a deal at all since I live in a HUGE city) and so I carry my groceries home.  They’re heavy.  But the idea is still the same: certain things that need to be done every day like dishes and the floors and other things that need to be done regularly like the bathrooms.  So now I don’t have to worry about taking half a day to clean my house but do small things in the moments of transition I have and find that my house stays cleaner longer.

I’m committed to winning this battle.

Screen Shot 2014-04-16 at 11.35.36 AM

 

Categories: life, weird things about living overseas | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

One Big Happy Home

A Blog by Kayla and Ryan North

