Dealing with Motion Sickness: Advice From a Recovering Sick Traveler

motion sicknessI travel for a living.  And I suffer.  Greatly.  Cars, boats, buses, trains, planes, even camels make me turn eight shades of green.  While my husband is pointing out beautiful scenery as we speed down the road, I grunt a response as I concentrate on not losing the fantastic lunch we had from a great local diner.

A few years ago I took non-drowsy Dramamine for a Trans-Atlantic flight.  I didn’t get sick.  But I also have no recollection of the several hour layover I had in Europe.  I remember taking off in DC and then nothing until I woke up when we started landing in Beirut.  Somewhere in there I changed planes.  This is no good when you travel alone.

Then I moved to Bonine.  This is a great little medicine that kept me from spewing my “gourmet” dinner all over the tiny bathroom.  But, it did make me tired.  Not sleepy enough to pass out like Dramamine, but still irritating.  This is why I only took it when I flew rather than when we were on a road trip or ferry ride.  So that left me to suffer on every other mode of transportation.

A few weeks ago I decided to try out Sea Bands.  I’m generally skeptical of things like this but I was desperate.  Travel is part of my life.  Spending a significant portion of it sick makes it a lot less enjoyable.  I put them on for several road trips my husband and I took through some mountains recently.  Normally this would set me over the edge.  But these magical little bracelets changed everything.  I was looking out the windows pointing out birds and seeing all the beauty of God’s creation.  And without any grogginess.

Beautiful.

Now to see how they fair on planes.  Maybe I’ll actually be able to read!

What do you use for motion sickness?

Categories: Travel | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

One Big Happy Home

A Blog by Kayla and Ryan North

