Lessons in Observation

I pride myself on being observant. I love learning and figuring out why different people do different things. My Arabic learning was enhanced by watching the facial expressions and hand motions of those around me. But, boy, do I have a lot to learn.

Today our business reopened after being closed for the Islamic holy month of Ramadan. I was met with huge hugs, kisses and lots of, “Oh how I missed you!” Then came the, “You’ve lost weight! Look at you!” I’ve lost a total of 2.2 pounds. That is one meager kilo of weight. Who sees that? Then another looked at me and said, “Oh, your eye! It’s pink! Are you ok?” A week ago I had had an infection and my eye swelled up. They’re mostly normal now and I had my glasses on and makeup to cover up any residual effects of the infection. Honestly, not noticeable, at least that’s what I thought.

But then again, noting gets past my Arab friends. They see everything.

Categories: weird things about living overseas | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

10/10 Initiative: Prayer and Fasting

If you abide in my, and I in you, you will bear much fruit. For without me you can do nothing. John 15:5

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

