Letting Go and Hanging On

We own a business. At least on paper we do. We’ve spent the last 18 months finding a location, working on licenses, figuring out the registration process and fighting for electricity. We’re still fighting for connection to city water, but it’s on the back shelf since we can have it trucked in. (Yes, our place is in the middle of the capital city. Yes, our building is old. No, I have no idea why there were issues with electricity and water.)

Yesterday we recieved the call that all the renovations were finished. (Actually this call came two days ago, but the contractor wasn’t actually finished so we had to remind him of some things still incomplete like the front door not working.) But now it’s done. I should be excited. I should be ecstatic. I should be jumping up and down and celebrating. But I’m not.

Instead, I walk around that beautiful new space amd think of all I have to do now. I have to get the POS system installed. I have to actually hire people. I need to meet with the marketing company and develop a budget. I need to design the menu and have it printed and laminated. I need to get a sign made. I need to… And I wonder at how I got here. My degree is in education. I’m totally out of my comfort zone here.

And in the midst of my to do list and worry over what is going to happen, I forgot something vital. This business is not my own. Just as my life is not my own. No, the business belongs to the Lord. He miraculously provided the finances for the start up. He showed us the perfect place right in the center of town with a reasonable rent. He planted this idea in my head 15 years ago.

So I am boldly and unashamedly asking God for his guidance in our business. I’m asking him to guide every decision, great or small. I’m relinquishing my control since I didn’t have any to begin with. I’m praying fervently for God’s divine takeover of the company. And I’m praying for the strength to continually lay the business at the Lord’s feet while working tirelessly to get it running and keep it going. I haven’t fully learned how to balance that: letting go and working hard, but I’m trying. And my God is faithful. Even when I have no idea what I’m doing.

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. (Mark 11:24 NIV)

Categories: life, spiritual growth | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Letting Go and Hanging On

  1. Ha! We are wired the same way. I’m happy that your dream 15 years ago is coming to fruition. I am enjoying the journey from a distance:)

  2. desertmeanderings

    Thanks, Jamie! It’s quite the ride.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

10/10 Initiative: Prayer and Fasting

If you abide in my, and I in you, you will bear much fruit. For without me you can do nothing. John 15:5

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

