The Road Less Traveled

I like to hike. My hometown is near the Appalachian Trail, so journeys up to the tops of mountains to bask in God’s beauty are a regular for me when I’m in the States. I love the well worn, well marked path, confident in my abilities knowing that thousands have traveled these steps before me. I meander up the hill toting some fruit, nuts, a bottle of water and my journal in anticipation of a wonderful time of prayer and reflection while sitting a safe distance from the edge.

Today I went with three friends on a very different kind of hike in a mostly dry river bed. There was no path other than the one made by the stream winding its way through the rocks. We climbed rocks, trudged through water and met a crab. As we made our way around the rocks I was reflecting on Psalm 91:9-13
9 If you say, “The Lord is my refuge,”
and you make the Most High your dwelling,
10 no harm will overtake you,
no disaster will come near your tent.
11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways;
12 they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.
13 You will tread on the lion and the cobra;
you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

As we continued, my resolve came into question as I worked to conquer my intense fear of heights. In between my prayers for God to teleport me off the side of a rock, I kept reminding myself that God has commanded his angels concerning me so that I wouldn’t strike my foot against a stone. I am thankful for my parents helping me memorize Scripture as a child.

I felt very close to God in those moments and I’m happy to say that I arrived back home no worse for the wear. God is a good God who protects us. However, I think I’ll give my angel a break and go back to my strolling along we’ll worn paths up mountains. Besides, most of my life is a road untraveled by others and full of crazy adventures. That’s enough for me.

20130125-165140.jpg

20130125-165034.jpg

Categories: life | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Road Less Traveled

  1. Well said, Christi! I have to wonder though if some of those nuts you were toting were of the food kind or the people kind, ha!!:) I love hiking analogies. Sarah told me one time many years ago in Harper’s Ferry that I hike too fast and that I don’t stop long enough to enjoy the journey. I have always remembered that statement.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

10/10 Initiative: Prayer and Fasting

If you abide in my, and I in you, you will bear much fruit. For without me you can do nothing. John 15:5

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

