Moving in

Finding a place to live is a difficult endeavor in any setting. There are just so many variables. Add to that language and cultural differences and things get really interesting.

I chose to find an apartment in my new hometown through a realtor. We discussed my needs as it relates to number of bedrooms, furnished, nearness to my language school, etc. Then we began the discussion on how much I could pay. He assured me that he had many places in my price range that will meet my needs. And then reality struck. He began taking me to beautiful apartments twice what I can pay and twice as large as what I need. So I explained my needs and limitations again. His response was affirmative and then he assured me we would look at more apartments that would be more appropriate. Day two was more of the first. Now my frustration is rising. Until I began questioning why he was showing me these places. His response: but you’re an American and these are better for you. Of course he knows what’s best for me, right?

But, in the end, I was able to sign a lease on a lovely place full of interesting things for the price I had told him.

So, how will I meet all these new neighbors?

Categories: Beginnings, Changes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Arabian Sparrow

Even the sparrow finds a home.

Love Builds Families

A blog by Adoptions From The Heart to help families interested in Adoption and to support those who have adopted

Desert Meanderings

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

My journey of loving Jesus in the Middle East.

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress.com site

One Big Happy Home

A Blog by Kayla and Ryan North

